Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Black History Month Singers - Raffaelli: Home

Remote Access

***To access the databases from home, you need to log in using your EA Email username and password. You will be prompted to log in when you click on the database icon***

General Encyclopedias (Backgroud Info only)

 

Books

Some of your singers will have entire books about them, available from the library. Email Ms. King if you're not finding enough online or just prefer to research with real books!

Databases: American History Resources

 

A database is a collection of sources (articles, biographies, reference sources, videos, audio, etc.) that are collected in one spot to make your research easier!

Remember to scroll down or select the type of source you want to see all the information available .
The summary/top result is not all that is available in the database.

 

Gale databases provide virtual libraries: reference articles, primary source materials, news articles, websites, audio files and visual media, etc.

      

 

 

Use ProQuest to find newspaper articles from throughout history to see what people were saying about your singer in newspapers, magazines, etc. You will also find photos here.


 

Pre-approved Websites

The following websites are authoritative (teacher-approved) and may be used for research:

Biography.com

Most, but not all, of the singers can be found on this website.

The History Channel 
Most, but not all, of the singers can be found on this website.

 

 

 

Got a Question?

Ms. King

Middle School Librarian

Episcopal Academy

484-424-1536

aking@episcopalacademy.org

Authoritative Websites

Check with your teacher before exploring the Internet for websites!  

 

If you're not finding enough information AFTER you have already checked Britannica, Biography in Context, U.S. History in Context, and all the websites, you may Google your person responsibly using the CRAAP test!

 

Remember the CRAAP method when evaluating a website not on this LibGuide. If the website does not pass any part of CRAAP, try looking for a better website, or at least proceed with caution. For this project, Authority, Accuracy, and Purpose are the most important factors to consider--it's OK if a source is a little older as long as the info is correct! Keep track of your sources in case Mrs. Raffaelli needs to check them later!

 

Currency

Relevance

Authority

Accuracy

Purpose