Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Presidential Accomplishments: Home

Remote Access

***To access the databases from home, you need to log in using your EA Email username and password. You will be prompted to log in when you click on the database icon***

 

 

TLC - Catalog

Recommended Books

Comic

Fingerprint Presidents Poster by Jason Pruett

 
 
 

Text Research- Reserves

Please check the reserve shelf for both reference books and for individual biographies on specific presidents; the individual books are alphabetically arranged on the shelf. Several series are available.

These books may be checked out after 2 PM on each school day and must be returned by 8 AM the next morning.

Reference Books

 
REF 973.09 PRE     The Presidents, a Reference History
                                            1 vol: Arranged chronologically by term . Gives overview, with
                                        highlights of presidential career in opening paragraph; look
                                        for a final section: Keywords = “Evaluated” , “Assesment”, 
                                        “Legacy” , etc.
 
REF 973.09 US       U.S. Presidents and Foreign Policy, from 1789 to
                                    the Present
                                    1 vol: Arranged chronologically by term . Gives overview,
                                          with highlights of presidential career in opening paragraph;
                                          see  final paragraph, “Legacy"

 

Databases

 

Search by name: gives overview of presidency. The resource Encyclopedia of World Biography is a good starting point

 

This database provides Reference material, Magazines, Newspapers, Primary Source, and Multimedia images

 
 

As above, Reference material, Magazines, etcNB: Articles from the resource Presidential Administration Profiles for Students includes administration analysis

Citation Tools

Quick Reference Websites

Click on the links below for additional credible information

Miller Center
2016, Rector and Visitors of the University of Virginia
The University of Virginia’s Miller Center is a nonpartisan institute that seeks to expand understanding of the presidency, policy, and political history,  Look at: "Domestic Affairs", Foreign Affairs", "Impact and Legacy" sections.

POTUS: Presidents of the United States
2014, Robert S. Summers
Brief, largely statistical overview of U.S. presidents, with a list of notable events, primary source documents and links to other web-based biographies.

Selected Presidential Libraries, from Hoover through Obama.

The American Presidency Project, non-profit and non-partisan, is the leading source of presidential documents on the internet.  Our rapidly-growing collection is hosted at the University of California, Santa Barbara.

Library of Congress Presidents of the United States Resource Guide, the presidential resource guides compile digital materials that are available throughout the Library’s Web site.  In addition, each resource guide provides links to external Web sites and a bibliography containing selected works for both a general audience and younger readers.

The White House 
The White House
A brief overview of U.S. presidents, with a focus on administrative accomplishments.

Timeline of US Presidentsfrom Scholastic

List of Presidential firstsfrom Wikipedia (be sure to reference the reference list for citation creation)

 

Do not use Google for research!

Gale